By continuing to browse our site you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.

Tag Archives: practice

Sustained in God’s Love

Wisdom in Times of Crisis Sustained in God’s Love Monday, July 6, 2020 In the light of eternity, we’re here for a very short time, really. We’re here for one thing, ultimately: to learn how to love, because God is love. Love is our origin, love is our ground, and love is our destiny. —James… Continue Reading Sustained in God’s Love

Simplicity: Weekly Summary

Simplicity Saturday, July 4, 2020 Summary: Sunday, June 28—Friday, July 3, 2020 As we grow spiritually, our lives become more and more centered and simple. There are only a few things that matter, and eventually really only one. (Sunday) Francis of Assisi truly experienced radical participation in God’s very life. Such practical knowing of his… Continue Reading Simplicity: Weekly Summary

Cosmology and Nature: Weekly Summary

Cosmology and Nature Saturday, June 27, 2020 Summary: Sunday, June 21—Friday, June 26, 2020 I hope this week’s meditations offer you a vision of a cosmology that is scientifically accurate and still entirely suffused with the presence of God. (Sunday) In Jesus, I hope for more than just a God with a face or a… Continue Reading Cosmology and Nature: Weekly Summary

Inner and Outer Freedom: Weekly Summary

Inner and Outer Freedom Saturday, June 20, 2020 Summary: Sunday, June 14—Friday, June 19, 2020 The wise ones recognize that without a certain degree of inner freedom, you cannot and will not truly love. Spirituality is about finding that freedom. (Sunday) Our deepest freedom rests not in our freedom to do what we want to… Continue Reading Inner and Outer Freedom: Weekly Summary

Contemplation and Racism: Weekly Summary

Contemplation and Racism Saturday, June 13, 2020 Summary, Sunday, June 7—Friday, June 12, 2020 We are witnessing the results of centuries of unresolved racial violence in our collective body today. (Sunday) We largely do not recognize the structural access we enjoy, the trust we think we deserve, the assumption that we always belong and do… Continue Reading Contemplation and Racism: Weekly Summary

Alternative Community: Weekly Summary

Alternative Community Saturday, June 6, 2020 Summary: Sunday, May 31—Friday, June 5, 2020 People are gathering digitally and in person today through neighborhood associations, study groups, community gardens, social services, and volunteer groups. (Sunday) Without connectedness and communion, we don’t exist fully as our truest selves. Becoming who we really are is a matter of… Continue Reading Alternative Community: Weekly Summary

Solidarity: Weekly Summary

Solidarity Saturday, May 30, 2020 Summary, Sunday, May 24 — Friday, May 29, 2020 When the Bible is read through the eyes of solidarity—what we call the “preferential option for the poor” or the “bias from the margins”—it will always be liberating, transformative, and empowering in a completely different way. (Sunday) If one of the primary… Continue Reading Solidarity: Weekly Summary

Franciscan Ecological Wisdom: Weekly Summary

Franciscan Ecological Wisdom Saturday, May 23, 2020 Summary: Sunday, May 17 — Friday, May 22, 2020 Our common home is also God’s own house, permeated by the Spirit of God from the dawn of creation, where the Son of God pitched his tent in the supreme event of the incarnation. —Joshtrom Isaac Kureethadam (Sunday) Saint… Continue Reading Franciscan Ecological Wisdom: Weekly Summary

Julian of Norwich: Weekly Summary

Julian of Norwich Saturday, May 16, 2020 Summary: Sunday, May 10 — Friday, May 15, 2020 Like all mystics, Julian realized that what Jesus was saying about himself, he was simultaneously saying about all of reality. That is what unitive consciousness allows you to see. (Sunday) Perhaps the best answer to the question “Why Julian… Continue Reading Julian of Norwich: Weekly Summary

Community: Weekly Summary

Community Saturday, May 9, 2020 Summary: Sunday, May 3 — Friday, May 9, 2020 How can the Center for Action and Contemplation continue to be of service, building on what God has already done with us? How can we offer something of further value that has authority and believability on its own? (Sunday) We learn… Continue Reading Community: Weekly Summary

FacebookTwitterEmailPrint