practice Archives — Center for Action and Contemplation
×

By continuing to browse our site you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.

Tag Archives: practice

All Will Be Well: Weekly Summary

All Will Be Well Saturday, April 10, 2021 Week Fourteen Summary and Practice Sunday, April 4—Friday, April 9, 2021 Sunday Resurrection and renewal are, in fact, the universal and observable pattern of everything. Monday Our sister and ancestor Julian is eager not only to speak to us today but to shout at us—albeit in a… Continue Reading All Will Be Well: Weekly Summary

Scapegoating and the Cross: Weekly Summary

Scapegoating and the Cross Saturday, April 3, 2021 Week Thirteen Summary and Practice Sunday, March 28—Friday, April 2, 2021 Sunday As long as we deal with the real meaning of evil and sin by some means other than forgiveness, we will keep projecting, fearing, and attacking it over there, instead of “gazing” on it within… Continue Reading Scapegoating and the Cross: Weekly Summary

Prophetic Imagination: Weekly Summary

Prophetic Imagination Saturday, March 27, 2021 Week Twelve Summary and Practice March 21—March 26, 2021 Sunday Moses had the prescience and courage to move the place of hearing God outside and at a distance from the court of common religious and civic opinion—this was the original genius that inspired the entire Jewish prophetic tradition. Monday… Continue Reading Prophetic Imagination: Weekly Summary

An Expanding Love: Weekly Summary

An Expanding Love Saturday, March 20, 2021 Week Eleven Summary and Practice Sunday, March 14—Friday, March 19, 2021 Sunday Peter himself began to recognize that God works with all people of goodwill—not just people in his group. But he had to be pushed there. Little by little, God leads him to universal love. Monday To… Continue Reading An Expanding Love: Weekly Summary

Communion of Saints: Weekly Summary

Communion of Saints Saturday, March 13, 2021 Summary and Practice Sunday, March 7—Friday, March 12, 2021 Sunday Together the living form with the dead one community of memory and hope, a holy people touched with the fire of the Spirit, summoned to go forth as companions bringing the face of divine compassion into everyday life.… Continue Reading Communion of Saints: Weekly Summary

Learning How to See: Weekly Summary

Learning How to See Saturday, March 6, 2021 Summary and Practice Sunday, February 28—Friday, March 5, 2021 Sunday One of the keys to wisdom is that we must recognize our own biases, our own addictive preoccupations, and those things to which, for some reason, we refuse to pay attention. Monday People can’t see what they… Continue Reading Learning How to See: Weekly Summary

Wisdom: Weekly Summary

Wisdom Saturday, February 27, 2021 Week Eight Summary and Practice Sunday, February 21—Friday, February 26, 2021 Sunday Jesus teaches his disciples through his lifestyle, a kind of “seminary of life.” Monday What Jesus experiences in his consciousness, we are to experience in ours. We are to enter into his very heart, the center of his… Continue Reading Wisdom: Weekly Summary

Nature, Cosmos, and Connection: Weekly Summary

Nature, Cosmos, and Connection Saturday, February 20, 2021 Week Seven Summary and Practice Sunday, February 14—Friday, February 19, 2021 Sunday Once we know that the entire physical world around us, all of creation, is both the hiding place and the revelation place for God, this world becomes home, safe, enchanted, offering grace to any who… Continue Reading Nature, Cosmos, and Connection: Weekly Summary

African American Spirituality and Song: Weekly Summary

African American Spirituality and Song Saturday, February 13, 2021 Week Six Summary and Practice Sunday, February 7—Friday, February 12, 2021 Sunday The legacy of the spirituals is worth our continued attention now, not only as “museum music” . . . but also as a broad-ranging cultural tradition that remains relevant to pressing present-day social realities.… Continue Reading African American Spirituality and Song: Weekly Summary

Unknowing: Weekly Summary

Unknowing Saturday, February 6, 2021 Week Five Summary and Practice Sunday, January 31—Friday, February 5, 2021 Sunday The formal theological terms for unknowing and knowing are the apophatic or “negative” way, where you move beyond words and images into silence, and the kataphatic or “affirmative” way, where you use words, concepts, and images. Monday Perplexity,… Continue Reading Unknowing: Weekly Summary

Join Our Email Community

Stay up to date on the latest news and happenings from Richard Rohr and the Center for Action and Contemplation.


HTML spacer