practice Archives — Center for Action and Contemplation
×

By continuing to browse our site you agree to our use of cookies and our Privacy Policy.

Tag Archives: practice

A New Story: Weekly Summary

A New Story Saturday, January 16, 2021 Week Two Summary and Practice Sunday, January 10—Friday, January 15, 2021 Sunday A Great Story connects our little lives to the One Great Life, and even better, it forgives and uses the wounded and seemingly “unworthy” parts. Monday A “framing story” gives people direction, values, vision, and inspiration… Continue Reading A New Story: Weekly Summary

A Time of Unveiling: Weekly Summary

A Time of Unveiling Saturday, January 9, 2021 Week One Summary and Practice Sunday, January 3—Friday, January 9, 2021 Sunday The beginning of the new year seems like a good time to pause, “pull back the veil” and ask, “Where is this all going? What is the end goal for all of us, and—for that… Continue Reading A Time of Unveiling: Weekly Summary

Contemplation and Action Summary: Weekly Summary

Contemplation and Action Summary Saturday, January 2, 2021 Summary: Sunday, December 27, 2020—Friday, January 1, 2021 When we experience the reality of our oneness with God, others, and creation, actions of justice and healing naturally follow. If we’re working to create a more whole world, contemplation will give our actions nonviolent, loving power for the… Continue Reading Contemplation and Action Summary: Weekly Summary

Incarnation: Weekly Summary

Incarnation Saturday, December 26, 2020 Summary: Sunday, December 20—Friday, December 25, 2020 We do the Gospel no favor when we make Jesus, the Eternal Christ, into a perpetual baby, who asks little or no adult response from us. (Sunday) Christianity’s true and unique story line has always been incarnation. That means that the spirit nature… Continue Reading Incarnation: Weekly Summary

Self-Emptying: Weekly Summary

Self-Emptying Saturday, December 19, 2020 Summary: Sunday, December 13—Friday, December 18, 2020 In our consumer culture, even religion and spirituality have very often become a matter of addition: earning points with God, attaining enlightenment, producing moral behavior. Yet authentic spirituality is much more about letting go. (Sunday) In the garden of Gethsemane, Jesus struggled and… Continue Reading Self-Emptying: Weekly Summary

Giving Birth to Christ: Weekly Summary

Giving Birth to Christ Saturday, December 12, 2020 Summary: Sunday, December 6—Friday, December 11, 2020 If we try to “manage” God, or manufacture our own worthiness by any performance principle whatsoever, we will never bring forth the Christ, but only more of ourselves. (Sunday) We are a part of this movement of an ever-growing Universal… Continue Reading Giving Birth to Christ: Weekly Summary

Spirituality and Social Movements: Weekly Summary

Spirituality and Social Movements Saturday, December 5, 2020 Summary: Sunday, November 29—Friday, December 4, 2020 Non-imperial movements within Christianity strive not towards protecting their own power and influence, but toward supporting the supreme work of love flowing into the world. (Sunday) Christianity began as a revolutionary nonviolent movement promoting a new kind of aliveness on the… Continue Reading Spirituality and Social Movements: Weekly Summary

Thomas Merton: Contemplation and Action: Weekly Summary

Thomas Merton: Contemplation and Action Saturday, November 28, 2020 Summary: Sunday, November 22—Friday, November 27, 2020 During my sabbatical in Merton’s hermitage, the world, my own issues and hurts, all my goals and desires gradually dissolved and fell into proper perspective. God became obvious and ever present. (Sunday) The contemplative life is not, and cannot… Continue Reading Thomas Merton: Contemplation and Action: Weekly Summary

Jesus and the Reign of God: Weekly Summary

Jesus and the Reign of God Saturday, November 21, 2020 Summary: Sunday, November 15—Friday, November 20, 2020 The Reign of God is the subject of Jesus’s inaugural address, his Sermon on the Mount, and the majority of his parables. It is clearly the guiding image of his entire ministry. (Sunday) Jesus is talking about the… Continue Reading Jesus and the Reign of God: Weekly Summary

The Transforming Power of Love: Weekly Summary

The Transforming Power of Love Saturday, November 14, 2020 Summary: Sunday, November 8—Friday, November 13, 2020 We have strayed so far from love; and yet, love is the essence of who we are, and how we are called to treat one another. (Sunday) Love even for enemies is the key to the solution of the… Continue Reading The Transforming Power of Love: Weekly Summary

Join Our Email Community

Stay up to date on the latest news and happenings from Richard Rohr and the Center for Action and Contemplation.


HTML spacer